Penn LPS COVID-19 Update
LPS staff are not onsite, but we are still available Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. by phone and online in case you need support: (215) 898-7326 or lps@sas.upenn.edu. Visit coronavirus.upenn.edu, the University's dedicated coronavirus COVID-19 web page, for the latest updates. Penn LPS is ensuring that all students have access to the support they need. Visit our Current LPS Students page for more details.
close alert box button

Academic calendars

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges.

Fall 2020 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration period Tuesday, April 14 -
Friday, April 24
Classes begin Tuesday, September 1
Labor Day Monday, September 7
(no classes)
Last day to add language courses and writing seminars Friday, September 11
Last day to add a course Tuesday, September 15
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on transcript Tuesday, September 15
Tuition reduction request forms due Tuesday, September 15
Fall term break CANCELLED
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must submit a late drop form) Monday, October 12
Last day to change grade type status in a course (Submit a request form at https://srfs.upenn.edu/grade-type-change) Friday, October 30
Advance registration for spring term Monday, November 30 -
Monday, December 7 (2020)
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must complete a withdrawal form) Monday, November 9
Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed Tuesday, November 24 &
Wednesday, November 25
Thanksgiving break Thursday, November 26 -
Sunday, November 29
Classes resume (online) Monday, November 30
Monday schedule on a Thursday Thursday, December 10
Fall term classes end Thursday, December 10
Reading days Friday, December 11 -
Monday, December 14
Final examinations (online) Tuesday, December 15 -
Tuesday, December 22
Fall term ends Tuesday, December 22

Spring 2021 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration period for the spring term Monday, November 30 -
Monday, December 7 (2020)
Classes begin (regular Wednesday classes) Wednesday, January 20
Last day to add writing or language course Friday, January 22
Tuition reduction request forms due Tuesday, February 2
Last day to add a course Tuesday, February 2
Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation and no notation on the transcript (After this date LPS students must contact the LPS office to drop a course) Tuesday, February 2
Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (LPS students must complete a Late Drop Form) Monday, March 1
Spring recess begins at close of classes on Tuesday, March 9 Wednesday, March 10 -
Thursday, March 11
Spring recess ends; classes resume Friday, March 12
Last day to change grade type status in a course (Submit a request form at https://srfs.upenn.edu/grade-type-change) Friday, March 19
Advance registration for fall and registration for summer classes Monday, March 22 -
Sunday, April 4
Last day to withdraw from a course. Full financial obligation applies. (LPS students must submit a withdrawal form) Monday, March 29
Spring term classes end Thursday, April 29
Reading days Friday, April 30 -
Monday, May 3
Final examinations Tuesday, May 4 -
Tuesday, May 11
Spring term ends Tuesday, May 11
LPS Graduation Sunday, May 16
University Commencement Monday, May 17