COVID-19 Update: LPS staff are available in person, online, or by phone at (215) 898-7326. More Info & Resources >
close alert box button

Academic calendars

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges. For more information about withdrawal and leave procedures, please visit our Current Students page.

Spring 2023 academic calendar and deadlines

Course search available via Path@Penn Wednesday, October 12 
Advance registration period for the spring term

Monday, October 31 -
Sunday, November 13, 2022

Course Add/Drop/Swap available via Path@Penn Tuesday, November 22, 2022 (at 7 a.m. ET)

Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)

Wednesday, January 11

Martin Luther King Jr. Day (observed)

Monday, January 16
(no classes)

Last day to add language courses and writing seminars

Friday, January 20

Last day to add a course (via Path@Penn)

Tuesday, January 24

Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation (via Path@Penn)

Tuesday, January 24

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (via Path@Penn)

Monday, February 20

Spring Term Break (LPS classes on Saturday, March 4 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 11)

Saturday, March 4 -
Sunday, March 12

Spring Break ends; classes resume

Monday, March 14

Last day to change grade mode in a course

Friday, March 17

Registration for summer classes begins

Monday, March 20

Last day to withdraw from a course
Full financial obligation applies. Transcript to read "W.” (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form)

Monday, March 27

Advance registration for fall classes

Monday, March 20-
Sunday, April 2

Spring term classes end

Wednesday, April 26

Reading days

Thursday, April 27 -
Sunday, April 30

Final examinations

Monday, May 1 -
Tuesday, May 9

Spring term ends

Tuesday, May 9

LPS Graduation

Sunday, May 14

University Commencement

Monday, May 15

Summer 2023 academic calendar and deadlines*

  11-Week Summer Session Summer Session I Summer Session II
Course registration begins March 20 March 20 March 20
Open enrollment form deadline May 9 May 9 June 17
Classes begin May 22 May 22 June 29
No classes, University holiday May 29
June 19
July 4
May 29
June 19
July 4
Last day to add a course/drop a course with no financial obligation June 7 May 30 July 6

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation
(via Path@Penn)

Last day to change grade mode
Please see contacts for home school for more information. (LPS students must modify via Path@Penn)

June 21 June 7 July 14
Last day to withdraw from a course
Full financial obligation will apply. Transcript to read "W.” Please see contacts in home school for more information. (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form)
July 24 June 21 July 28
Classes end** August 4 June 28 August 4

*Dates are subject to change

**Summer Sessions do not have a set schedule for final exams. All exam dates are at the discretion of the course instructor.