COVID-19 Update: LPS staff are available online, in person, or by phone at (215) 898-7326. More Info & Resources >
close alert box button

Academic Calendar

The important dates below are scheduled by the College of Liberal and Professional Studies. Some deadlines and other dates may be different in other Penn Schools or Colleges. For more information about withdrawal and leave procedures, please visit our Current Students page.

Fall 2022 academic calendar and deadlines

New Student Orientation

See information on orientation dates

Advance registration period

Tuesday, April 18 -
Sunday, May 1

Classes begin

Tuesday, August 30

Labor Day

Monday, September 5
(no classes)

Last day to add language courses and writing seminars

Friday, September 9

Last day to add a course (via Path@Penn)

Tuesday, September 13

Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation (via Path@Penn)

Tuesday, September 13

Fall term break
Saturday classes will not meet

Thursday, October 6 -
Sunday, October 9

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (via Path@Penn)

Monday, October 10

Fall term break ends; classes resume

Monday, October 10

Last day to change grade type status in a course
(LPS students must complete a Grade Type Change Webform)

Friday, October 28

Advance registration for spring term

Monday, October 31 – Sunday, November 13

Last day to withdraw from a course
Full financial obligation applies. Transcript to read "W.” (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form)

Monday, November 7

Thu/Fri class schedule on Tue/Wed

Tuesday, November 22 &
Wednesday, November 23

Thanksgiving Break begins at 4:30 p.m.
LPS evening classes will not meet

Wednesday, November 23

Thanksgiving Break ends - Classes resume

Monday, November 28

Fall term classes end

Monday, December 12

Reading days

Tuesday, December 13 -
Wednesday, December 14

Final examinations

Thursday, December 15 -
Thursday, December 22

Fall term ends

Thursday, December 22

Spring 2023 academic calendar and deadlines

Advance registration period for the spring term

Monday, October 31 -
Sunday, November 13 (2022)

Classes begin (Monday class schedule on Wednesday)

Wednesday, January 11

Martin Luther King Jr. Day (observed)

Monday, January 16
(no classes)

Last day to add language courses and writing seminars

Friday, January 20

Last day to add a course (via Path@Penn)

Tuesday, January 24

Last day to drop a course with no financial obligation (via Path@Penn)

Tuesday, January 24

Last day to drop a course with 50% financial obligation and no notation on transcript (via Path@Penn)

Monday, February 20

Spring Term Break (LPS classes on Saturday, March 4 will be held and there will be no classes on Saturday, March 11)

Saturday, March 4 -
Sunday, March 12

Spring Break ends; classes resume

Monday, March 14

Last day to change grade type status in a course (LPS students must complete a Grade Type Change Webform)

Friday, March 17

Registration for summer classes begins

Monday, March 20

Last day to withdraw from a course
Full financial obligation applies. Transcript to read "W.” (LPS students must complete a Withdrawal Form)

Monday, March 27

Advance registration for fall classes

Monday, March 20-
Sunday, April 2

Spring term classes end

Wednesday, April 26

Reading days

Thursday, April 27 -
Sunday, April 30

Final examinations

Monday, May 1 -
Tuesday, May 9

Spring term ends

Tuesday, May 9

LPS Graduation

Sunday, May 14

University Commencement

Monday, May 15